The Convention of  

 The Baronage of Scotland 


The King's Council of the Seven earls

This council originates from the time of the Picts. The seven sons of Cruithne the Pict ruled as Mormaers in the original provinces or sub-kingdoms of Buchan, Mar, Angus, Atholl, Strathearn, Fife and Moray. These were the Righ from whom the Ard Righ or High King was appointed. These seven provinces became the original seven earldoms of Scotland.

It was their right and privilege to advise the Ard Righ. When the Scots of Dalriada 'joined' or 'conquered' the Picts to form the Kingdom of Albany this council increased but retained the same name.

Eventually this council was superseded by Parliament and the Privy Council.